RNS Number : 0565E
Sound Energy PLC
25 February 2020

25 February 2020

Sound Energy plc

("Sound Energy" or the "Company")


Executive Chairman Appointment


Sound Energy, the Moroccan focused upstream gas company, is delighted to announce the immediate appointment of Graham Lyon as Executive Chairman and as a Director of the Company.


Mr. Lyon is an experienced oil and gas executive with 40 years of experience across technical, operational and commercial leadership roles, including as Chairman of Infrastrata plc (AIM: INFA) and International Vice President of Petro-Canada (TSX: PCA).   Mr Lyon is a Petroleum Engineer by training, is currently Non-Executive Chairman at SulNOx Group PLC (NEX: SNOX) and holds various private directorships with small energy and consulting firms.


Mr. Lyon will lead the Company's Executive team and Board of Directors, bringing commercial, strategic and technical leadership to the Company. 


Marco Fumagalli, who had been Sound Energy's acting Non-Executive Chairman since 12 November 2019 and prior to Mr. Lyon's appointment, will now return to his role as a Non-Executive Director of the Company with immediate effect. The Company also announces that it has commenced the process of identifying and appointing an additional Independent Non-Executive Director for appointment to the Board and further announcements will be made in this regard in due course. 


Mr. Lyon holds 125,786 ordinary shares in the Company, representing 0.01% of the Company's issued ordinary share capital.


In addition to his appointment to the Sound Energy board of directors, Graham Victor Lyon, aged 62, holds or has held the following directorships or partnerships in the past five years.




Previous (last five years)

Clarion Petroleum Ltd

Infrastrata plc

Cleve Cross Court Management Company Ltd

Pearland Energy Nig Ltd (1)

Comet Energy Ltd

Tate Petroleum Ltd

Kwark Energy Ltd

Tarbagatay Munay LLP (2)

Sealion Power UK Ltd

The Exchange RTM Company Ltd

Sea Lion Power (PVT) Ltd

Soncer Ltd

Soncer Bel BVBA

Soncer CYP Ltd

SulNOx Group plc


(1)    Mr. Lyon was not a statutory director of Pearland Energy Nig Ltd. However, Mr. Lyon is considered to have been a past 'director' of Pearland Energy Nig Ltd for the purposes of the  definition of a 'director' within the AIM Rules for Companies.


(2)    Mr. Lyon was not a statutoty director Tarbagatay Munay LLP. However, Mr. Lyon is considered to have been a past 'director' of Tarbagatay Munay LLP for the purposes of the definition of a 'director' within the AIM Rules for Companies. 

Marco Fumagalli, outgoing acting Chairman of Sound Energy, commented: 

"I am delighted to welcome Graham to the Sound Energy Board at this critical juncture in the Company's development and I, and the rest of the Board, look forward to working with Graham as the Company launches its micro LNG strategy."


For further information please contact:


Vigo Communications - PR Adviser

Patrick d'Ancona

Chris McMahon 


Tel: 44 (0)20 7390 0230

Sound Energy



Cenkos Securities - Nominated Adviser

Azhic Basirov

Ben Jeynes 


Tel: 44 (0)20 7397 8900

RBC - Joint Broker

Matthew Coakes

Martin Copeland


Tel: 44 (0)20 7653 4000

Macquarie Capital (Europe) Limited - Joint Broker

Alex Reynolds

Nick Stamp

Tel: 44 (0)20  3031 2000



This information is provided by RNS, the news service of the London Stock Exchange. RNS is approved by the Financial Conduct Authority to act as a Primary Information Provider in the United Kingdom. Terms and conditions relating to the use and distribution of this information may apply. For further information, please contact rns@lseg.com or visit www.rns.com.